Sunday, September 14, 2014

Blog Tour Stop!- Run by Eve Vaughn

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Title:  Run
Author:  Eve Vaughn
Publication Date:  September 8th 2014 by Eve Vaughn Books

Plot:  The Hunter…
Dare O’Shaughnessy had the world in the palm of his hand. A man known and feared for his ruthlessness, his word was law. The last word he ever expected to hear was no. Until he met her.
The Prey…
Aya Smith despised the ruling class who looked down on hardworking people like her. Sick of being treated unfairly by laws that protect the wealthy and punish the poor, she takes a stand but soon realizes, she might have crossed the wrong man.
The Game…
Created as a government program to assist in the repopulation of the country when an untested drug wipes out millions of women, The Run eventually evolves into something much more sinister. Now played for the amusement of the super rich, women down on their luck find themselves the prizes of sadistic masters.

Aya is forced to volunteer for The Run, and Dare, the most sadistic of all, places her in his crosshairs. She will belong to him, body and soul. But when he catches her will she succumb to his mastery, or will he find more trouble than he bargained for?

 My Review 

☆ I received an ARC from Heaven Sent PR in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! ☆

#Ooooh!! I liked this one!! It was so brutal and unforgiving!!

For those of you who love erotic dystopian reads then The Run is DEFINITELY for you!!


So, first thing's first, what exactly is "The Run" and why is the story called Run in the first place?: 

"The Run," where the story gets its title from, Run, is future society's way rebuilding the female race after a medical experiment goes wrong and nearly wipes out their entire population.

Only....what was started off with good intentions, later deviates and develops into a degrading practice of shows of power, degradation, retribution, and ultimately corruption.

This is "The Run."

The plot in a nutshell:

What lengths would you go to save the people that you love?

For Aya Smith, these lengths find her reluctantly entering herself into the annual “Run” where her biggest nightmares become reality.

Thrown into a dog eat dog world where weakness is not tolerated nor appreciated, Aya quickly learns that in order to survive here is to succumb herself to the monastic rule of a sinister force that has taken a fancy to her.

Who is he you may ask? Why is he is Dare O’Shaughnessy, the most dangerous and powerful man in this ominous world and owner of "The Run."


A man who, has his eyes on taming this defiant spitfire and bending her to his will...COMPLETELY and IRREVOCABLY...


Welcome to the world of The Run ladies and gentlemen, where the Elite rule and all those below them are disposable pawns at their bidding!!

My thoughts + some re-briefing and elaborating on the plot and characters:

Eve Vaughn’s Run touched a lot upon the power dividend between the different social castes. For women of the low and poor classes, "The Run" is their last resort for money, hopes of a better life, and in Aya's case: to save her uncle and his business from a certain tyrant mogul trying to put her (and her uncle) in their place..

“You seem to have forgotten the rules of The Run, doll. You are mine until I say you’re not and if I want to keep you indefinitely, then that is my right. Don’t forget it.”

Now caught up in the crosshairs of this deadly yet seductive man, what is Aya to do when feelings begin to grow between her and her captor, and the two find themselves in a tumultuous love affair that neither had bargained for?

Few things are for certain: worlds will collide, rules will be broken, and hearts will be on the line.

What will become of Aya and Dare? Will what started as a testament of survival for Aya and a game for Dare end up in true love? Or will it conclude in heartbreak? Read and you will find out readers!!

Wrap up:

A great start to this compelling series from author Eve Vaughn!! I will be staying on for bk 2, The Auction!! Sounds like even more trouble is brewing and it's up to our cast of lovelies to take down the big baddies!!

I hope Aya’s friend Macy will get some love action!! Preferably from Foster!!♥♥ I do like Mac and do sympathize for him since he always gets friend-zoned but I like Foster for Macy more. I think they suit each other better. Please have a Foster and Macy love match Ms. Vaughn! And then find Mac some lady lovin’ as well!♥♥

#Fans of Skyla Madi’s The Unfortunates and Lolita Lopez’s Grab series will love this gem of a book! I think it's these books hybrid baby minus any sort of alien- sci-fi themes and four malicious, dictating family houses. #

My Rating:
-Overall : 8.75
-Plot : 8.75
-Writing : 8.5
-Characters : 8.75
-Cover : 8

The Hunter meets his Prey……
Dare had anticipated this moment from the time he knew she’d signed on for The Run. Truth be told, he would have preferred that he didn’t have to expend so much energy just to have this one woman in his bed. But somehow, Aya Smith had become a bit of an obsession for him. She’d caught his eye albeit briefly even from across the street. Despite her small stature, she was the kind of person who was larger than life. She had that certain something about her that made people want to be close to her without quite knowing why.
Sure, she was attractive, but he’d had many beautiful women. It intrigued and angered him at the same time that this slip of a woman had consumed so much of his time since their initial confrontation. She’d taken over his fantasies as he imagined all the dirty things he intended to do to her.
As he stood before her, taking in the gentle swell of her curve, Dare grew rock hard. He wanted nothing more than to take her right now but he had already decided their first time together would be more than just a quick tumble on the floor. He wanted to properly savor his victory.
Dare wasn’t used to being thwarted but he couldn’t help but admire how spirited she remained despite her current circumstances. She was a dreg, the bottom of the social order. He had expected someone like to her jump at his original offer but she’d surprised him. Even as he set forth his campaign to show her she’d made a huge mistake, he’d expected her to come to him. And when she didn’t, it had surprised him. Dregs were always looking for handouts. He didn’t think she’d turned him down because of some high moral code she held. She was holding out for a higher prize. Everyone had a price. Even Aya Smith, whether she wanted to admit it or not. She made a worthy adversary, but in the end this was a war he intended to win.
She scowled at him, tapping her small foot against the hardwood floor. “Are you here to gloat?”
“I have no need to gloat. I told you what would happen in the beginning. You chose not to believe me.”
“Well congrat-freakin-lations. What do you want? Shouldn’t I be outside with the rest of the women?”
“This is one of the perks of being the boss, Aya, I get to do what I want.”
“Again, congratulations.” She rolled her eyes and folded her arms over her chest, obscuring his view of her chest.
“You have a lot of attitude for someone in your position, but we’ll fix that. When I have you—”
“What makes you think I’ll allow myself to be caught? Maybe, I’ll make it out.”
Dare narrowed his eyes, while he found her spirit amusing to a point, he was getting tired of her incessant backtalk. It was time to remind her of a few things. “Trust me, Aya, you will be caught. And when I have you, not only will you do what I say, you will love it.

 About the Author 

USA Today Bestselling Author Eve Vaughn has always enjoyed creating characters and stories from an early age. As a child she was always getting into mischief, so when she lost her television privileges (which was often), writing served as her outlet. Her stories have gotten quite a bit spicier since then! When she’s not writing or spending time her family, Eve is reading, baking, traveling or kicking butt in 80′s trivia. She loves hearing from her readers.

Author's Links:
Website  | Goodreads | Facebook  | Twitter 

 Buy Links 


1 comment: